Hondo! Headlines Newest Packers Hall Of Fame Class

529 4

Hondo! was a hurdler in another life.

Three will be inducted into the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame, including long-time fullback William Henderson, AKA Hondo!, the team has announced.

The other members of the class are guard Marco Rivera and contributor Frank Jonet.

Hondo! played 12 seasons in the NFL, all with the Packers. He was an All Pro and made the Pro Bowl in 2004 and was a member of the Packers’ 1996 Super Bowl championship team. In addition to leaping would-be tacklers in a single bound, Hondo! will also be remembered as the guy who led the way for seven 1,000-yard rushing seasons — two by Dorsey Levens (1997, 1999) and five by Ahman Green (2000-04, 2006).

Rivera played nine seasons with the Packers, starting seven. He played all 16 games in all but one of his seasons as a starter and made the Pro Bowl three times (2002-04). Rivera finished his career with the Dallas Cowboys, where he played two seasons.

We know nothing about Jonet, but here’s what the Press Gazette tells us.

Jonet was involved with the Packers since 1919 as office manager for the Indians Packing Company, team founder Curly Lambeau’s employer that sponsored the team with funds, uniforms and equipment. Jonet later served as team treasurer and was instrumental in helping the organization through difficult financial times.

The induction ceremony will be held July 23.

And I’m going to say it one more time, since he is one of my favorite Packers ever.


About The Author

Monty McMahon is one of the founders of Total Packers. He is probably the most famous graduate of UW-Oshkosh next to Jim Gantner.

4 Comments on "Hondo! Headlines Newest Packers Hall Of Fame Class"

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *